Today I bought a composting toilet

The picture is NOT Mr Wizard. compactprod.jpg

Mr Wizard and I have been reading and comparing various models, but today I actually shelled out over $1300 to Lehman’s. We plan to use this as we start construction and should know pretty quickly if this is a reasonable sewage alternative, or if we actually need to go with a septic system.

Wouldn’t it be nice not to use masses of water to manage sewage? Not to bury yards and yards of concrete just to contain a little poo? I am hoping this is aesthetic enough that we can use this system and avoid septic. But it has to be odor free and easy if we are to embrace this long term. I’m too old and cranky for an outhouse smell indoors, (or outdoors for that matter).

2 Responses to “Today I bought a composting toilet”

  1. Geoff Goldsborough Says:

    I was wondering how you like your compost toilet? I am considering one as well. Could you tell me how it is working and if you think it will be a suitable replacement for a septic?
    Thanks,
    Geoff
    http://www.montelloalpacacompany.blogspot.com

  2. Annie Says:

    Well? how’s it going? Do you need a new toilet, or did this one work? I was curious to know if there was an odor or if that is avoidable. Thanks

Leave a Reply

